Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 7th, 2011

Another Chinese essay

To be honest, I’m not exactly sure why my teacher assigned this task, but I quite enjoyed the way it echoed a middle school writing assignment where I wrote as a pair of shoes.  I think?  Maybe it was high school.  Who can remember these things?

This post is a little different from the facebook one in that I’m including my intended translation, same as last time, for my Chinese-challenged friends.  I’ll also link up the Google machine translation because it’s frakking hilarious.

 擬人化的謎語

我跟同伴們一起站著等人來選擇。我們住在大大的館,睡在硬硬的床。誰來看我們呢?研究者、學生、科學家,人類都會在我們的身體自由自在地來找資料、資訊、故事等等。

您找到我了,怎麼搜尋需要的資訊呢?我沒辦法說話,您應該打開我,把我的內臟翻來翻去。不要雞皮疙瘩,這種動作不擾我!我的目的就是幫助您。

我是什麼?

An Anthropomorphic Riddle

My friends and I stand waiting for people to come and choose us.  We live in a huge hall, and sleep on hard beds.  Who comes to see us?  Researchers, students, scientists; all humanity can freely search within our bodies for data, information, and stories.

Once you’ve found me, how do you find the information you need?  I can’t speak, so you must open me up and turn through my viscera.  Don’t get goosebumps; this kind of action doesn’t disturb me!  My only goal is to help you.

What am I?

Read Full Post »