Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2011

Too much money

Last night, my class was about jobs and related vocabulary.  After a sincerely difficult yet ultimately successful search for “baker,” we started to discuss the concept of a rewarding job.  I defined rewarding as a job that perhaps doesn’t pay much but still makes you happy and satisfied.  Usually, people consider teaching a rewarding job, but the first suggestion a student pulled off the page was sales rep.  Blinking with confusion, I turned to the other two students and asked “What else?”  They suggested firefighter and police officer, but when I tendered teacher, they weren’t having it.  They thought teachers were too well paid!

Perhaps my explanation was off, or maybe it’s just a cultural thing.  Would you explain rewarding a different way?  I’m always looking for the clearest and simplest way to put things…

Oh, one last thing: the one studying to be a baker will eventually head a factory of some sort.  How do you explain that one?!  I eventually came up with “baking engineer!”

Read Full Post »